Dr Naila Ashfaque is a Pakistani doctor who is currently working in UK and got a number of medical degrees like MBBS (Pakistan)

Dr Naila Ashfaque is a Pakistani doctor who is currently working in UK and got a number of medical degrees like MBBS (Pakistan), MD (USA) and PLAB, MRCEM and MRCP (UK). She got these degrees while perusing family commitments and having 4 kids! Read what does she say about her struggle.

I always wanted to share my story of Postgraduate Medical Training but couldn’t write it earlier because of busy professional and family life. Today I would like to take this opportunity to share my journey with all of you, especially females.

I am a graduate of Baqai Medical University, Karachi. My journey is a journey of every middle class girl who dreams to do something big and extraordinary in life. To turn my dream into reality, I followed these simple rules and suggest you to do the same.

1: Don’t waste time during your under graduation. Study enough hard to save time afterwards because as soon as you graduate, your clock starts. There is immense pressure on you by family to get married. So, as long you are in Medical College, you have a protected shield. Everyone is happy to support you for studies. So utilize this time at best. Read from text books and reference books. Try to avoid review books. Study for 4-5 hours daily. Don’t break this schedule.

2: Start your House Job immediately after graduation. Don’t delay it unless you are getting married or there is strong reason for so, like pregnancy etc. Always do House Job in Medicine and Surgery, 6 months each, as this is acceptable pattern of GMC. House job should not stop you from studying. Make sure whatever patients you see, you study well on their cases, plus continue with your home study routine as you were doing in Medical College.