Halleluiah 417. For COMLEX 1

My COMLEX 1 experience:

Halleluiah 417. For COMLEX 1, 400 is the passing points and I am not sure about the max points, but I heard it is close to 800. So, 417 is near the bottom of the passing. You might think I would be very disappointed; however, I am in fact very happy with my score. After series of failed exams that include COMSAE, failed COMLEX, failed COMAT exams for surgery and psych, I finally got “pass” in my transcript. It has been so long that I have passed for any exams since I entered medical school. I already failed several courses and had to take 3 years off (2 years involuntary and 1 year voluntary to prepare COMLEX). I entered my medical school, MSUCOM in 2014, and now I officially finished my second year and moved up to third year rotation which will start soon. My MCAT score was 17 whereas my class average was 29, and my percentiles for most courses were merely 5% or less. Before I entered MSUCOM, I was an engineer and acupuncturist. I got my Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering and worked in AT&T Bell Lab for 10 years before I started my acupuncture school, PCOM (Pacific College of Oriental Medicine). Then, I became an acupuncturist with my wife. After a decade of practice, I realized I wanted to combine Eastern and Western medicine together, and decided to enter a medical school. Although having a Ph.D. in engineering, I haven’t taken any science courses in my life until I started studying for MCAT simply because science seemed to me too hard. The last science course that I took before MCAT studying was about 45 years ago in my 1st year middle school. I did not know what the periodic table was until I took the courses for MCAT.

I am now 58 years old and I don’t know anyone in my class as well as in any medical schools older than me. I have to finish 3rd and 4th year rotations and finish 3-4 years of residency to practice. So, I will be 64 years old to open my first clinic.