Hello everyone I am a medical student form Colombia and I got my STEP1 score yesterday

Hello everyone I am a medical student form Colombia and I got my STEP1 score yesterday, this group was of great help to me in my preparation and I hope my experience can help everyone who is starting this journey.

Target: +250

My score: 257

Time of preparation: 9 months (Dedicated period: 3 months).

Resources:

1. Uworld : It is a MUST for the STEP 1 preparation. There is not much to be said.

***I didn’t use Anki even though many people recommend it. The reason is that the flashcards from Uworld were easier to make, with the option to copy images or a part of the text. They have been upgrading this flashcard system (similar but not as good as Anki), I recommend to use them if you don’t mind to lose your info after your UW subscription expires.

2. First Aid : On the test day I felt at least 70% of the Qs where covered in FA.

3. Pathoma : Very good, high yield pathology videos to watch before starting FA, Dr. Sattar makes Path very easy to understand and the book has all high yield concepts already written.

4. Skecthy micro & Pharm: This resource is underrated, it is GOLDEN for visual learners, Micro and Pharm were my strongest areas in almost every NBME.

5. USMLErx qbank : It was a good Qbank to help FA information get stuck in your mind while doing FA.

6. Kaplan books (early on my preparation): Personally, I only recommend the biochemistry book with the videos. I also did anatomy, micro and immunology books but they were a waste of time. Don’t get me wrong, I have friends that have scored 250 using Kaplan course but I think B&B videos are less time consuming and have more high yield concepts.

7. B&B : This videos by Dr. Ryan are a very good resource to start with, I only used them for some difficult topics, but if I had to choose between this and Kaplan for my early prep, the answer is B&B.