How I scored 265 on the USMLE Step 2 CK – Experience 2018-2019

I am an international medical student from Mumbai, India. I appeared for the USMLE Step 2 CK in December of 2018. Through this post, I want to share my USMLE Step 2 CK experience with the hope that it will help you in your preparation.

I have also written a book titled How to Crack the USMLE Step 2 CK which is available on Amazon Stores all over the world as an eBook. I have discussed my strategies in greater detail in this book.

USMLE Step 2 CK experience

My Background

The last year of medical school in India is formally called as “Internship”. This is a one year training period where we work in the hospital setting and learn skills. To be honest, it is a lot of scut work. It is also very time consuming and tiring as well as dealing with a lot of shit from your seniors.

Anyway, I decided to take my exam during internship because I wanted to get done with the exam before the elective and residency application process would begin.

It was February of 2018 and I decided that I will start studying from March. I still hadn’t recovered completely from the mental exhaustion of giving Step 1. Starting to study for another exam seemed like a daunting task. However, I gathered the courage and decided to find out all that is needed to study for the exam before March when I actually start studying.

What are the resources that I should use?

Unlike Step 1 where everyone gave you the same “First Aid and UWorld” advice, things were very different for Step 2 CK . There are so many different views about the resources to be used that it can leave you confused.

Speaking to people who had given the exam gave me the three most commonly used names of review books – MTB, First Aid for Step 2 CK, and Step up 2 Medicine.

Everyone had used a different combination of resources. However, there was one name common to all – UWorld . So that was one thing I decided I’m going to do for sure.