I passed my PLAB 2 in July and got my GMC license in mid-September

Hey guys. Hope you’re all doing well. I wanted to share my job hunting experience with you guys here. I passed my PLAB 2 in July and got my GMC license in mid-September. I spent most of August arranging for the necessary documents for my GMC registration. I started applying for jobs through the NHS jobs portal from the beginning of September (although you can start applying right after your PLAB 2 result). Like most IMGs right now, I am a fresh graduate, with zero NHS work experience and I haven’t given my MRCP exam, this is why I was not too picky with my choices. I applied daily for any new opening, and the supporting information part of each of my application was individually tailored for each application according to their person specifications. This helps a lot rather than just forwarding the same basic information in all applications. I got an invitation for an interview in Orthopaedics as an FY2 non-training in October 15th and was offered the job after a Skype interview. After accepting the job I stopped applying for any more applications. I applied for 85 jobs in total. I received 2 more interview offers later on, one in early November and one just a few days back, which shows that even if you have applied for a job 1-2 months back, you may still get a response from them, so don’t rule out anything too soon. Don’t think every place that doesn’t respond right away has rejected you. The average time to secure a job for a person in my position is 1-3 months, but here are a few things in my CV/applications that I personally feel were helpful in getting me interview offers: