I want to share my experience on my first month of working as an SHO in the A&E

I want to share my experience on my first month of working as an SHO in the A&E. I hope I’m not too early. But this is what I feel at the moment after my 1 month experience.I hope I’ll feel the same and better in the coming days. I did have a gap before i worked. I worked as an A&E SHO back in my country too. But I did have a gap due to maternity reasons.

Before I joined, I was too anxious and scared. I had read that it takes a lot of time to get used to the system and will take time to build up our confidence. Well, to some level it is true. But it also depends on how we perceive stuffs and the trust itself.

Where I work, I’ve met amazing people. Everybody is really nice and friendly. The seniors are really supportive. Most SHOs understand me as they’ve been through the same thing. Before I started, I didnt expect alot from myself to know and learn everything in an instant even though I worked in my country.

The system is new and alot of things. The choice of medications, the protocols are all different. Just the cases are the same. Even the tourniquet, stuffs like butterfly canula, vacutainer, tegader…everything is different for someone like me who graduated and did internship in the philippines and worked in Nepal.

But, I’m taking one step at a time. Sometimes, things don’t go so well but it just takes 1 percent of the day so I don’t focus on it. I share it with my close colleague or someone close to me and forget about it. But mostly, 99 percent of what I experience is good.