In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

{… And [He] has taught you that which you did not know. And ever has the favor of Allah upon you been great.} Qur’an [4:113]

Hello, everyone : ). My name is Muhammad Mahmoud. A 5th grade medical student from Egypt.

I’ve scored 249 on USMLE Step 1, and this is my experience.

Before starting and throughout my preparation, I read a lot of experiences. Which really helped me, esp. in terms of the psychological aspect xD. So, I think it’s my duty now to continue what our USMLE-er friends have once started … to help each other out.

At the beginning, I want to quote from the experience of a Sudanese doctor (252) I read, before even buying the books. He wrote: “THIS THING IS DOABLE”. Always keep that in your mind. Always.

I am an a-bit-above-average student in my school. That’s because I am really frustrated with the educational process in school. And, actually it is the main reason I decided to study for the USMLE exams. So, if you consider yourself an average or even a below-average student, this thing is for you. To build your knowledge with a fresh start and be a good doctor.

Quick stats:
UWorld 1st pass: Offline
UWorld 2nd pass: Online, 93% correct

Assessment exams: All were in timed mode, except 17 & 16.
NBME 17 offline: 21 mistakes (3 months out)
NBME 16 offline: 17 mistakes (3 months out)
NBME 15 offline: 14 mistakes (1 month, 3 weeks out)
NBME 13 offline: 16 mistakes (12 days out)
NBME 18 ONline: 252 (10 days out)
NBME 19 offline: 12 mistakes (5 days out)
Free 120: 14 mistakes = 88% correct (2-3 days out)

Duration of preparation: 18 months (with 3-4 months off … school exams)

Sources and Study Material:
Kaplan, Pathoma, Uworld Qbank, UW BioStats review, and First Aid were the core of my preparation.
Easyauscultation.com for Heart sounds. And the NBMEs for assessment.