My post on the 4th of august 2018 – plab 1 experience

MY POST ON THE 4TH OF AUGUST 2018 – PLAB 1 EXPERIENCE

My PLAB 1 experience is rather unique so not sure if it will be helpful to all. But there are some who are likely to benefit so here it is…

First my background. I graduated in 1988 from King Edward Medical University Pakistan (it was Medical College back then) and went through a one year house job in Medicine and Surgery. However, I then left the practice of medicine and joined the pharmaceutical industry on the commercial side – not the medical affairs side. I migrated to the UK 10 years ago and was fortunate to have been able to find a job in the company I was working for in Pakistan - once again on the commercial side. I was though not at the same level as I had reached in Pakistan (the price one has to pay for a migration esp. when you make it late in life).

A few years ago I decided that I should move to the medical affairs side of the industry. I discovered that whereas there are some jobs that the industry might consider me for, generally even industry truly considers us doctors if we have GMC registration.

Some friends started suggesting that I should go through the process of getting a GMC registration but I was extremely hesitant due to the 30 years gap since my graduation, during which I had not been in touch with medicine in any clinical capacity. Eventually I decided to take the plunge at the beginning of this year.

I started taking some tentative steps towards studying. Almost testing the waters to see if it seems doable – exploring how different or similar the material was to when I left it, how much my stale knowledge of 30 years ago might come back, how much of an effort this might be etc. After a few weeks of this I started feeling more reassured and felt that this was doable though perhaps not in the first attempt.