My USMLE step 1 experience as IMG - Saad Javeed - Medium

My name is Saad Javeed. I graduated MBBS from Sharif Medical and Dental College, Lahore, Pakistan in 2017. After graduation I moved to U.S. I received my USMLE Step 1 score a while ago, I scored 266 Alhumdulillah!
I was an average student during medical school. Never thought that I would be taking USMLEs. When I started my preparation, I didn’t even know that someone can cross 270’s in step 1. After finding out the experience of a guy who scored 276, I went into curiosity. How someone can get such a high score? Are they genius? Are they hard workers? That time I set my target and I wrote a note on my journal stated, “You, are getting 270s that’s it” Although I slacked a bit in my target score.

Friends! honestly, everything is doable. No one is born genius, genius is 1% talent and 99% hard work. Hard work works in real life. Set your goals, determine yourself and never look back. Persistence and perfection in every aspect of life should be your new year’s resolution.

I am writing this review to share my experience, I figured it is the time to give back to the community. There are some awesome people on USMLE forums who not only did hard work but also supported others in the form of reviews and experiences. Honestly, these people are my heroes.

When I started step 1 preparation, I read many high scorers’ experiences and had many questions and confusions to that I never found an answer. Like how much time does it take to study each resource? Where to start First Aid? How to study UWORLD effectively? I will try to cover each of these questions and all those things that concerned me during my preparation. I will try to be honest in everything, a lot of people does not like to share their weaknesses and timeline with people but I don’t mind sharing it. Below is my whole timeline in sequence. I hope you find it helpful.

Assessments
UWORLD 1st round- 82%
NBME 7 offline-18 mistakes