My USMLE step 1 experience-Rose Bila: Step 1 score 243 received on 02/06/19

My USMLE step 1 experience-Rose Bila: Step 1 score 243 received on 02/06/19. I know that it is too long but I wanted to be as comprehensive as possible.

Hello my USMLE Step 1 family! Rose is my name on my baptismal certificate but Rose didn’t make it as my name when I started school.

My journey is not typical. I am 40 years old IMG and I graduated
in 2003. I am married and I have a 13 year old son. I have a green card and I am applying for citizenship ASAP. After graduation I practiced medicine (seeing patients) for 5 years. From Sep 2007 to Aug 2008 I got a Masters degree in Public Health from Europe; after which I worked in clinical research until January 2014 when I migrated to the US. In August 2014, I started graduate school full time (PhD in Microbiology) and I am still in school. Hopefully, I will finish this year now that Step 1 is out of the way.

When I came to the US, I had no intention of practicing medicine. I just wanted to do research hence the reason I enrolled in the PhD program. The first two years I was just in class learning and I didn’t do any wet lab. I did look at an old FA and some USMLE type questions and I thought that there was NO WAY I COULD EVER PASS THE EXAM and I didn’t bother with it. In Spring Semester (2016 Jan to May), I started doing wet lab and I didn’t like it at all. This is when I thought about doing USMLE in order that I may do residency and maybe do clinical research instead because I was doing clinical research and interacting with patients in Africa and I really enjoyed it.

How I studied.
Total study time: 2.5 years (June 2016 to Jan 2019) with lots of breaks and distractions.
Dedicated, full-time USMLE study: 6 weeks.