NEET PG is over. Results are out. Now soon the game of counselling will begin

NEET PG is over. Results are out. Now soon the game of counselling will begin. And to get ahead in this race, everyone will need to know everything about their branch of choice .

I am an MD Radiation Oncology resident at R.G. Kar medical college and hospital in Kolkata. And perhaps it is my duty to help someone who wants to take up my branch as his/hers. I will try to be brief and to the point. I will try to keep on editing and adding points if people are interested in further information. So without much ado, let me give you all a perspective at Radiation Oncology/Radiotherapy…

1. What is Radiation Oncology (RadOnc)?

Ans: The old name of this branch is Radiotherapy. BOD in supersession of MCI has changed the name of the branch to better justify its curriculum which involves total care of a cancer patient. It involves diagnosing a cancer patient, prescribing investigations, and providing treatment. The treatment encompasses radiotherapy, chemotherapy, supportive medicinal management as well as palliative care.

1. What would you do in Dept of RadOnc on a daily basis?

Ans: 1-2 days in a week , you will be having OPD. Remaining days would be divided between doing radiation treatment planning and providing chemotherapy (in daycare centre as we know it).

1. What can an MD pass out do in this branch (apart from practising as a radiation oncologist)?

Ans:

A. Pursue DM in Medical oncology (you will have to sit for NEET-SS)

B. Appear for FRCR clinical oncology examination (this will give you an edge in future recruitments if you stay in India)

C. Sit for ESMO certification examination (again, it might boost your CV)

1. Is there a threat of radiation exposure?

Ans: Unequivocally NO. Radiation oncologists are involved in radiation treatment planning, the actual delivery of radiation however is automated and managed by the machines and software.