US MS2 scores 253 on USMLE Step 1

US MS2 scores 253 on USMLE Step 1

Hi everybody! I’m a UNM student who loved looking at this thread before taking Step 1, and
wanted to share my experiences:
CBSE- 222- (6 weeks out, given by the school)
UWSA 1- 254 (three weeks before test)
UWSA 2- 245 (two weeks out)
NBME 16- 228 (Three weeks out)
NBME15- 236 (2 weeks out)
UWorld- Only random, timed. Started in the mid sixties average, moved up to averaging about
76% on the 15 or so blocks before the test- cumulative was 70%. Finished 85% of it, did a few
blocks of incorrect towards the end, weak-subject specific (Neuro and anatomy)
Kaplan, USMLE-Rx– Used sporadically, if I would have studied more I would have made sure to
finish them. Found them both much less satisfying and more spotty than using UWorld. Would
recommend doing most of these as timed, subject specific during Phase 1, then using just UWorld
for random in the six weeks or so before the exam.

First Aid- Only study resource I used besides the Q-banks, found the depth just perfect. From my
perspective, I would say use a hard copy and mark it up; I’m pretty sure the science says being
able to visualized where something is on a page and what is around it gives it more context, and
perhaps an easier time recalling/ using the data to rule out answers. (I say this for people who use
an E-version with a text search function – if you have a hardcopy you should probably know it well
enough that you don’t need to look things up in the index, and you can find them easily. Enough
pontificating on the merits of paper).
Step 1 – 253
Thoughts: As you can see, much better than might have been predicted (just as I was hoping forphew!). Personal opinion: I loved the questions on UWorld, and found the exam to be nearly
identical in terms of question stem length and integration of knowledge required (I would hazard
a guess that the average for Step 1 might be in the low 70s percentage-wise, considerably higher