USMLE Step 1 Experience – 262 – American Student

USMLE Step 1 Experience – 262 –American Student

I wanted to share my experience in hopes that it will help some others who are still fighting the
good fight. This thread helped me a ton in prepping for this test and kept me motivated in times
where I was feeling pretty down about all the studying.
I also want to preface this writeup by saying that I am a very average student by what is
considered for a U.S. medical school applicant; I attend a small medical school that is primary care
focused and is ranked somewhere around 100 in terms of annual NIH funding for research. I had
a 31 mcat and feel lucky that I even got into medical school. I also know plenty of other people
who had mcat scores less than 30 who destroyed this test. Natural intellect and a strong history of
doing well on standardized tests is not what is necessarily needed to do well on this test–Step 1 is
a test that rewards those who work hard. If you grind it out and actually learn your basic sciences
well in the first two years of school, this test will reward you for it.
Resources: First Aid, Pathoma, USMLE Rx, Goljan Audio, UWorld, and ?DIT videos?

well will ultimately be the best preparation of all for doing well on this exam. Many students do
not realize this until it is too late, and waiting until the last semester of 2nd year to prepare for this
test is simply just not enough time to cover all of the information you’ve learned in the first two
years. Additionally, when you start doing questions in the qbanks you will be shocked by how
often the only reason you are able to answer some of these questions is by recalling or
recognizing things from your classes, because all of the info is NOT covered in the review books.
With regard to resources (other than Rx and Uworld), I believe that the Goljan audio and Pathoma
were key to my success. Some people say that Goljan audio is outdated and too old to worry