USMLE Step 1 Experience – 272 – Dr. Hamza Aftab – 2018 – USMLE Step 1 Experience 270 +

My name is Dr. Hamza Aftab and I am a graduate of King Edward Medical University, Lahore. My
graduation year is 2017. I gave my exam on March 8, 2018 and by the Grace of Allah, I scored a
272. Alhamdulillah!
A little about myself:
Before starting my MBBS at K.E, I was a slightly above average student. My MCAT scores were
decent and so were the SSC/HSSC scores. However, during med college, I was a little too involved
in the extracurricular activities. I would end up studying only before exams, every year. My scores
dropped considerably and I struggled during the professional exams. So, for those of you who
were not as attentive during the med-school, here’s a silver lining!
Brief stats:
Exam Date: March 8, 2018
UWorld 1st pass: 92% UWorld 2nd pass: 98% UWorld 3rd pass: 100% NBME 11 offline: 17 mistakes
(2.5 months out) NBME 13 online: 263-8 mistakes (1.5 month out) NBME 16 online: 259-11
mistakes (3 weeks out) NBME 18 online: 267- 8 mistakes (1 weeks out) UWSA 2 online: 271-11
mistakes (2 days out)
Real Deal: 272 (Alhamdulillah)
Preparation time:
– Total: 11 months – Dedicated: 9 months – Study hours: 8-12 hours/day in the beginning, 14-16
hours/day towards the end.
Sources and Study Material:
My major sources were Kaplan, Pathoma, F.A and Uword with supplementation from other
sources for my weak areas mentioned in detail.
Kaplan: Kaplan is extremely useful and extremely low yield at the same time. For those with good
concepts from the medical college, or if you are and undergraduate with good grasp, you can skip
this step. However, people like me, who realize what biochemistry is for the first time after
becoming doctors, Kaplan is the best way to go. Kaplan is not meant to be learned by heart. You
are likely to forget everything you read from Kaplan but it will have inculcated in you the concepts
that were lacking.