USMLE Step 1 Experience IMG – 28 June 2019

Every time I had doubts about myself during the process of studying for this exam, what lifted me up and got me through were three things 1) My family’s and friends’ support and encouragement. 2) My faith in God. 3) Reading the experiences of others on Facebook and Reddit. So I would like to give back a little of that to help those of you who will be writing soon get through such times.

I’m a Canadian IMG, Medical school in India.

June 28th: Step 1 score – 253

I started prep in August 2018. Wrote my exam end of June 2019. So total prep time was about 11 months with about 2 months in the middle during which I didn’t study at all where I had other things I had to deal with (Health, Family, Travel). So basically I studied sincerely for about 9 months.

I know 9 months seems like a long time compared to the 8 weeks that US MDs get to study for this exam, however let me point out that I studied at a private medical college in India that TAUGHT US PRACTICALLY NOTHING compared to what US MDs are required to learn in their colleges, which I realized only after studying for this exam. So for me, it was like starting everything from scratch.

I was among the top 15% in my class.

My aim was 260.

This was my schedule:

Auguest: Started with FA but nothing made sense so I decided to go with Kaplan 2018 lecture notes first. I watched the Kaplan videos for biochem and physiology but I realized I was wasting time and therefore stuck to reading the notes alone which was much better for me.

DOWNLOAD FIRST AID FOR THE USMLE STEP 1 2019, PLUS NEW UPDATES

DOWNLOAD KAPLAN USMLE STEP 1 LECTURE NOTES 2019: 7-BOOK SET

Didn’t touch my books most of September