Usmle step 1 score : 267

Usmle step 1 score : 267

As a start i would like to thank this group for its constant support for all exam takers. Your experiences, discussions and questions were helpful.

Im a recent graduate from the university of jordan class of 2018. I started preparing for step 1 in august of 2018 and took my test on the 3rd of april 2019 (7 months total). At the beginning i was moving at a slow pace studying for a couple of hours a day, then gradually stepped it up, so dont be discouraged at the beginning. The tremendous amount of materials included along with uworld question bank can make you doubt you will finish on time but eventually you will figure out that its doable.

I read pathoma during my fifth year at med school, so i did not not bother to go over it again during my preparation. I had a good knowledge base in physiology and thats why i also chose not to go through BRS or any other physiology textbook.
I started studying first aid and my first read took me almost 3 months. This included sketchy micro videos ( which i only found useful in terms of simplifying micro since this subject was my one of my weakest points even during Med school. If you are the type of person to memorize based on photographic memory and drawings then i would recommend it, otherwise choose something more straight forward without the extra information and less time consuming). I went through first aid and had a couple of topics which needed more explanation and tried to google or look up videos on youtube that helped me understand more.
After finishing my first read i subscribed to uworld question bank and started doing them along with my second read. I found it to be extremely helpful and if i go back in time i would do it during the first read. My second read was much more productive and efficient due to uworld. The questions and explanations helped solidify major important concepts and made studying a bit more enjoyable.