Dihydropyridine calcium channel blockers (CCBs)

Dihydropyridine calcium channel blockers (CCBs) are medications used to treat conditions like hypertension and angina by relaxing blood vessels. Here is the general order of potency for commonly used dihydropyridine CCBs, from most potent to least potent:

  1. Clevidipine

  2. Nicardipine

  3. Nimodipine

  4. Amlodipine

  5. Felodipine

  6. Isradipine

  7. Nifedipine

This order reflects their relative potencies in terms of their vasodilatory effects on vascular smooth muscle. However, individual patient responses to these medications may vary, and other factors, such as pharmacokinetics, dosing, and patient characteristics, also play a role in determining the effectiveness of a specific CCB.