Dr tahni patel Hello People

Dr tahni patel
Hello People,
I want to share my match journey with all of you, for multiple reasons but mainly because I couldn’t find any solid guidance for my specific situation.
I graduated medical school in July 2018 and moved to the states- I didn’t have work and all that I was supposed to do is study- I hit a wall and fell into deep clinical depression (far away from family and no friends). My partner was very adamant that the solution to all my problems is getting rid of the weights that is step 1. So 6 months into studying and battling severe depression I did my step 1 exam- I passed but with the worst possible score on earth-198.
This was the point where I had no idea what to do or how to approach the situation altogether- Long story short- I started doing research day and night! Did as many poster presentations as humanly possible. Worked on multiple projects- it was all unpaid.
In August I did step 2- I did much much much better and raised my score to 240. (I studied for it for 6 weeks) I initially thought I won’t apply to 2020 match, but my partner had very strong arguments of why I should apply this year (Best freaking person to have!!). I applied to the match Sep 15,2019 to 350+ INTERNAL MEDICINE PROGRAMS. I just thought I had to give this my all and not hold back one inch. I contacted every human being I knew. I was super honest about my situation and even in my personal statement, I talked about my step score.
I received 9 interviews, I attended them all and ranked all. I matched into my 5th choice at a UNIVERSITY PROGRAM in the city I’m currently living in so I don’t even have to move!!! I didn’t put it number one because I didn’t think they would even rank me.