I am a US IMG since I have a green card, here is my story

I am a US IMG since I have a green card, here is my story
I went to medical school in europe and did rotations in chicago
I’m an average student and I want to give hope to anyone who has a dream of doing well on this
exam. It’s not easy, there are no shortcuts but if it truly is your dream you have to be motivated,
work very hard and sacrifice a lot.
Everyone says to do uworld and do it throughly, obviously it works for the masses and thats great
but I want to share how I did it for those of us who dont find it effective or enjoy that method. Do not get me wrong questions are extremely important, but doesn’t mean you have to spend 4
hours reviewing a block.
I did all of the kaplan videos in: Physio, pharm, biochem, behavoiral, micro…at this time I did half
of kaplan qbank
I did pathoma and barone path videos
I did sketchy micro
I did uworld-I finished about 65-70%, first pass i got around a 63% percent. I started at 35% and
week before exam I was at 75-85%. all i did was make sure it was timed and random and looked at
correct answer after and sometimes read main concept.
I did 70% usmlerx
I did DIT 2015 and DIT 2016-found this to be a great way to read through FA for the first time
I did all the NBME’s: I started at a 142 and ended with a 215 on NBME 18 a week before exam
***Please do NBME’s online and get feedback, invest a little money on the biggest exam.

1. make sure they are timed with 5-10 min breaks max between blocks, don’t lie to yourself or
    look up answers
    2)feel the stress as if its the real deal
    3)these are things that will help you be realistic- I would take my nbmes after studying all day and
    then take them from like 1am-6am-i gave my self harsh conditions and a lot of stress, knowing if I
    could perform like that before the exam, test day could never be worse. This strategy worked to