I passed MRCS Part A Jan 2020 attempt in first attempt with 80% marks yesterday

MRCS Part A Experience:

I passed MRCS Part A Jan 2020 attempt in first attempt with 80% marks yesterday,I wanted to share my experience as it might help someone.

As for my background, I am a fresh graduate and got my GMC Registration last month,via PLAB pathway. I wasn’t planning on applying for jobs in the NHS right away due to some personal circumstances, so I decided to utilize this time period by going for MRCS, as I plan on pursuing surgical training later.

Application :

Application process for MRCS is pretty straight forward. You can apply through either one of the four Royal College of Surgeons. It doesn’t make any difference which college you choose, I went for RCS England,but it is a bit more expensive as compared to the others.

Once you make account on RCS website and apply for upcoming exam, you have to send a verified copy of your degree to RCS by post within a few days.There are three options for verification :

*British Council: I went to British Council Office Islamabad, but they told me that it is a complicated procedure and would take atleast 2 weeks.

*Any person holding Full GMC Registration can do it too, but I didn’t know anyone personally who could do it.

*Third option is the easiest and I would recommend you to go for it. Go to The Notary Public in your area ( I went to Lawyers’ Chambers in F-8 Markaz in Islamabad) with your original degree and a copy and they will do it within 5 minutes for Rs 150/-

And after verification, dispatch the documents to RCS via post. (DHL delivers the documents within 5 days)

Preparation:

I can never prepare from multiple sources, and the biggest difficulty I faced when starting preparation was that everyone was recommending at least 6-7 different sources for preparation.

I have narrowed them down to these four, they are the best and the most widely used: