I'm currently a 4th year student at UQ. I took the step 1 in December, and got my score

old experience but #old is gold , this guy got 276
I’m currently a 4th year student at UQ. I took the step 1 in December, and got my score last Wednesday. I am
extremely happy about my hard-earned score of 276/99, and would like to share my experience with other medical
students studying for this exam in Australia.
Compared my classmates, I had to spend a significant amount of time on the side to study for this exam, as the
Australian medical curriculum does not place a lot of emphasis on basic sciences education. The course covers very
little biochemistry, pharmacology, and microbiology, so I spent extra effort studying for these subjects. I generally
don’t find lectures useful in med school, and the greatest piece of advice I’ve received regarding lectures is to attend
them selectively. I spent a lot of time in second year studying at home as opposed to going to lectures, and I was
able to get through resources fairly efficiently at my own pace. I also joined a USMLE study group at the beginning of
second year, where a group of my friends would spend an afternoon every Saturday to go over materials that are
frequently tested on the USMLE, especially the subjects mentioned above. Each person would be assigned a topic,
prepare for it during the week, and give a brief talk on the topic on the following Saturday. I found the study group
very helpful in getting me motivated to study for this exam.
I initially intended to sit the exam at the beginning of third year, so I spent a month studying after second year was
over. At the end of the month, I didn’t feel quite ready and decided to postpone my exam till the end of third year,
thinking that I would have plenty of time to study during the clinical rotations. Wrong. I only had some time during my
rural rotation and psychiatry rotation to study for USMLE, but could only manage to do 1-2hr/day on weekdays and