In March 2019 I took the USMLE Step 2 CS in Los Angeles

In March 2019 I took the USMLE Step 2 CS in Los Angeles. As I am an IMG, this was 1,5 years after I took Step 1 and Step 2 CK, but only 4 months after I graduated from my university in Germany. I applied at the beginning of November, so that I got my scheduling permit and was able to sign up for an appointment for my Step 2 CS in mid-November. I was still able to choose between many test centers as there were many places available, because most Americans take their exam between June and November for being able to participate in the Match in the following March. So those of you, who want to apply for the Match, should also apply to take Step 2 CS at least half a year before your desired exam date.

After I had figured out the date of my exam as well as the location, I started to look for flights and accommodations. I applied for a Visa 1,5 months before my departure. You’ll get a Visa Letter from the USMLE, so it shouldn’t be a problem for anyone to get approved. Due to the time difference (8 hours) I decided to fly to the U.S. one week before my scheduled date. I can highly recommend doing so, as my jetlag was really bad even though I’ve never had one on other trips before. I decided to abandon my mother tongue for this whole week and concentrated on communicating only in English. There are many Facebook groups where other examinees are looking for study partners. Just look for “USMLE Step 2 CS location”. I got to know a really nice doctor from the Philippines, who took the exam with me. That was really comforting on exam day, as I already knew someone and we could encourage one another.