Leg Cramps, ouch! Physical Therapy Helps

Are Muscle Cramps Normal?
Cramps are a sudden and prolonged muscle contractions. And when it happens you’ll know it because severe pain ensues. Most people have likely experienced some sort of cramp in their life, be it in the food, leg, thigh or calf – all are common areas – and as long as its a rare occurrence, there is no need for concern. As a physical therapist I address the reason behind more frequent cramps as well as the successful treatment of cramps that occur frequently or for unknown reasons.

Athletes Get them for One Reason…
Athletes experience cramps frequently. They may work out too hard with very little stretching or hydration and results in a rapid lactic acid buildup within the muscle resulting in a severe contraction – or spasm. The pain comes from the fact that when the muscle fibers get into the bundled cramp mode, they compress the nerves underneath and that causes pain. A careful evaluation is warranted in the case of cramps that have been occurring regularly. An exam might reveal other symptoms such as warmth, swelling or redness around the leg and shins. Measurements around the calf on both sides may reveal asymmetry or differences in girth size. Such findings indicate that along with the nerve compression, blood vessels such as arteries and veins may also be compressed. When that happens, it clearly indicates that the immediate medical attention is required to prevent permanent damage.

Couch Potatoes Get them for a Different Reason…