Neuroscientist & Founder of Fuzzy Synapse Dr.Vinita Bharat

Dr. Vinita Bharat is a neuroscientist by training and currently a postdoctoral research fellow at European Neuroscience Institute (ENI), Goettingen – Germany. Vinita apart from being a scientist also manages to shine through “Fuzzy Synapse” – idea to connect science to the world as a founder. Dr. Vinita also plays crucial role as Science illustrator and writer at Club SciWri (Career Support Group (PhD CSG) for STEM PhDs (A US Non-Profit 501 © 3 organisation).
About Dr.Vinita Bharat in her own words

I am a neuroscientist by training, understanding how “we” function has always attracted me. I finished my PhD from University of Goettingen, Germany and had been an International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) student here. I study learning and memory attributes of mammalian brain at cellular and molecular level. I believe in having work life balance. Traveling is what am passionate about; as it opens for me a totally new world for knowing different culture, meeting new people and challenges me to make my niche in totally unknown place.

To present science in fun and easier way by using my sketching pencils and comic timings, I have started a platform called “Fuzzy Synapse”. I work for science outreach and communication in addition to “being a scientist”.
Research Interests of Dr.Vinita Bharat

My research interests lie in studying cellular and molecular neuroscience. During my PhD, I have worked on understanding long range transport, capture and fusion of dense core vesicles in mammalian hippocampal neurons. I want to harness the basic insights of neuronal cell biology and use it to study the mechanisms of neurological disorders. In future, I planned to use and extend my expertise and knowledge to work with patient derived neurons.
Interview session of Dr. Vinita Bharat with Biostandups Team

BS: Who has inspired you in your life how and why?