Ashok Chaudhary - Nepal -275 USMLE Step 2 CK Experience

USMLE Step 2CK-275 (Test:April 11,2017)
USMLE Step 1-271
Hello ,
I may be new to many of you.I am a government officer working under Ministry Of
Health,Government
of Nepal.I got my Step 2CK score report a few days back.I am sorry for the delay in writing this.I
am
writing this with a hope of making you all believe that “If I can do good,you can do it even better”
and
vice versa.I have named this file “surviving step 2CK” because during the course of its preparation,I
think,my life was like that of in a survival mode,roughly speaking.
If you have read my step 1 experience,I want to assure you that this is gonna be shorter than
that.Partly
because the study materials for step 2CK are less diverse than that of step 1 and partly because I
don’t
want to hypnotise anymore.
I started my preparation for CK with the book named ”step-up to medicine”.Many people I talked
to
and many experiences I had read suggested MTB2 for medicine and MTB3 for other subjects like
pediatrics,surgery,OB&Gyn.I bought those books as well.Actually I began with MTB2 for medicine
and
instantly realized that it was not my type of book.I didn’t have that bullet proof jacket to bear all
those
bullet styled points of MTB2.I think I was able to read only initial few pages of that book and was
soon
searching for its alternative.”step up” was a nice alternative I think.Its written in more of
explanatory
way and reading it was a smoother process.Took almost 1 month to finish it.Plz don’t get scared
with
the time I took for it.I was working at government hospital and it was so for the most of my
preparation.So some days I could study well and some days weren’t that good.Combining job with
study
wasn’t very easy,I think.
After stepup,I subscribed to uworld for 6 months.There were 4 or 5 days remaining in the
subscription
when I took the exam.If ,for step 1,First aid and uworld were the holy sources;for step 2,uworld is