Gap between graduation and internship and GMC registration

Gap between graduation and internship and GMC registration.
OMAR ALAM·SUNDAY, OCTOBER 14, 2018
Gap between graduation and internship and GMC registration.
I see that GMC has become quite the stickler for rules as of late. And therefore they have rejected many application for this very reason.
I applied for my GMC registration in late Aug, 2018, and they refused to accept my internship for the following reason.
“As you completed your internship more than 24 months after you were awarded your primary medical qualification, you do not meet our requirements.”
My timeline: I graduated in May, 2014 and returned to my home country. As the medical council in my home country does not accept internship done outside, I had to sit for the boards and do my internship in my country in order to obtain full registration. It’s a 3 part exam which I subsequently appeared in, in Nov 2014, and March and May 2015. I was granted provisional registration in June 2015. I had to wait till the next intern intake in Nov 2015 to begin my internship. Therefore, I completed a 12 month internship in Nov 2016.
I was given the alternative of taking the 2 year postgraduate experience route for registration.
“However, we notice from your application that you have postgraduate experience.
Please can you send us evidence of any post-graduate experience you have which has lasted for at least two years and includes at least one area of medicine and one area of surgery. These two areas must be at least three months continuous duration each.”
As you can see it doesn’t state that the 2 years have to be continuous, it only states that the period in the respective departments have to be continuous. But I can’t advise you if you have a break in practice, as I personally haven’t been in a similar situation, as my experience was continuous.
This is the form they require to be filled.
https://www.gmc-uk.org/…/template-form---eea---evidence-of-…