Hello everyone, my name is Bishoy Zaki

Dr: Bishoy Ashraf

Hello everyone, my name is Bishoy Zaki. I’m a 4th year medical student in Ain Shams University, Egypt and I would love to share with this wonderful community my experience throughout this gruesome journey. I hope you find it helpful like others before me whose experiences I found helpful and inspiring. And I apologize in advance for its length but I want it to be as thorough as possible.

My target score was 250+ which-thank God-I achieved in the end.

A) I’ll lay out my prep in chronological order as that’s how I remember it:

1. I started seriously prepping for STEP1 with the start of my 3rd year (fall 2018) with the intention of taking the exam around November 2019 (LOL). I used resources such as B&B, Pathoma & Sketchy to help me decipher First Aid and get through my first pass of it. Our curriculum was taught in a systems approach which helped me study the same systems we were doing at uni from the STEP1 resources. By the end of the year, I had finished around 85% of FA with annotations from the B&B videos, read through pathoma once, and done many many sketchy videos.

2. Summer of 2019: I started a UWorld subscription (more on that later), did a 2nd more thorough pass of FA alongside B&B videos and started solving the very old NBMEs (1 through 15) for practice as I had a goal of not taking the exam before finishing all of the NBMEs to solve as much questions as possible (more on that later). As 2019 neared its end, I realized that I wasn’t ready at all to take the exam and still had much to do so I postponed till February of 2020.