Confidentiality and Medical Records

CONFIDENTIALITY
Physicians have a strong professional mandate to maintain the confidentiality of patients.
Communications between patient and physician are highly privileged and this confidentiality
can only be violated when there is potential harm to a third party or if there is a court order
demanding the information. Medical information cannot be passed to anyone without the
direct consent of the patient. Confidentiality also includes keeping a patient’s medical
information private even from his friends and family unless the patient expressly says it is
okay to release the information. The fact that a patient may have a good relationship with his
family and friends is absolutely no excuse to assume that the patient wants his medical
information passed on to them. I have an excellent relationship with my mother; however,
even though I am a doctor (or maybe because of it) she does not want me to know her list of
medications. She has no obligation to give me a reason why she does not want me to know
which medications she is taking. If I call her doctor and say, “I just want to help mom with
her meds. What is she on?” Her physician is supposed to respond, “I’m sorry, but your
mother hasn’t authorized me to give you that information. I know you mean well, but I just
can’t talk to you about your mother’s medical problems.”
For example, a 42-year-old man is hospitalized with chest pain. The patient is
awake and alert. His wife comes to you demanding information about the patient,
saying that she is his wife. She shows her identification card verifying this. What
should you tell her?
You cannot release medical information to anyone about a patient unless the patient gives
you permission to do so. Although it may seem rude and unreasonable, you must tell the
patient’s family members that you must ask your patient for permission before you can
release his medical information.