My experience as a medical registrar - beyond the first week

I have been working as a trainee registrar since August, 2019 in acute internal medicine.

I have shared my experience of my first week here:

I am going to share my experience on a regular basis here.

TEACHING:

Registrars are expected to book their teaching sessions themselves. NO ONE will inform them. In core medical training, I used to get an email from the deanery administrator mentioning the mandatory deanery based teaching sessions with dates.
Now, I have to do it.

For York and Humber, there are 2 sets of sessions:
AIM training days which are mentioned here:
https://heeyh-deanery-live.azurewebsites.net/node/306 GIM mandatory training days here:
https://www.rcplondon.ac.uk/events/career-stage/spr/career-stage/specialty-trainee/region/yorkshire-0

GIM is general internal medicine. These training days are for the medical registrar on call

I attended my first teaching session in Leeds. It was attended by around 100 registrars ( unlike CMT teaching sessions which were attended by around 7 to 10 trainees). The session was led by consultants who did not do “death by powerpoint presentations” but discussed relevant, medicolegal and ethical scenarios relevant to our clinical practice.

Topics like cannabis in the NHS, latest management of stroke with very interesting cases ( young people presenting with strokes), care of elderly management ( with clinically relevant scenarios) and hematology cases relevant to the medical registrar on call.

I also got to meet the registrars I worked with as a core medical trainee ( that is the beauty of doing specialty training in the same deanery you worked in as a trainee SHO) and got to meet other registrars, heard their issues, the good things in their trusts and also got tips from registrars working in trusts I am due to rotate into.

Overall, it was a very good experience. It was well organized, the catering was top notch and the teaching session was very good.