Nazia Salmans guideline on Foundation Year Training

Nazia Salmans guideline on Foundation Year Training

Hello! I’m an IMG from Karachi, Pakistan. I graduated from Aga Khan University in November 2016. I moved to U.K. in March 2017 on a PBS Tier 2 dependant visa without doing internship and applied for UKFPO Foundation Programme 2018 and was allocated to Wales foundation school in June 2018. Let me clarify: I am a non-UK/non-EU citizen, graduated from a non-UK medical school. My husband does not have British/EU passport or ILR. he is working in England on a Tier 2 General visa and I have leave to remain as his PBS dependant. My BRP states very clearly that I am not allowed to work as a doctor/dentist in training. Hence, I do not have the right to work. Despite this, I was allocated to a foundation school. I am writing a detailed post at the request of a lot of my fellow doctors so all IMGs in this group can benefit from my experience. Fair warning: I will be busting a lot of myths!

Firstly, I would advise you to go through the UKFPO website and the applicant handbook IN DETAIL. Please read it back to back. http://www.foundationprogramme.nhs.uk/pages/home