USMLE STEP 1 EXPERIENCE Study Duration: 1.5 years ( 4—5 th grade)

USMLE STEP 1 EXPERIENCE

Study Duration: 1.5 years ( 4—5 th grade)
Dedicated period: 5-6 months

Materials Used:

—UW: did 2 times all and 3 times mistakes. First pass %80, second pass %95. In my first
pass, I studied in tutor mode; the second pass, I used time mode. —FA: read 4 times. Too weak for anatomy
—Pathoma videos and text. Perfect for Basics.
—Kaplan videos and notes except Pathology and Micro
—MRS Micro: read 1 time but don’t recommend. Too Long and boring I think —Sketchy Micro: Excellent. I think everybody must watch at least 1 time and take
notes on FA from it.
—-Goljan Pathology: I think a good book but not useful for me. Too long and hard to concentrate. Wasted 5 months to read!!!
—BRS Physiology: I think Kaplan notes with videos are better
—-100 cases by. Conrad Fischer: not enough I think. You can learn rules from it but
in step1 you need beyond.
—UW 100 Biostatistics Questions: Everyone must do before the exam.
—-FA Q&A: not useful, don’t do it.
—RX, Kaplan Q Bank: not done all of it. 2 test of some topics in the first part of my preparation. It’s up to you, I am not sure.
—ANKI Flashcards: I prepared cards from FA, not all of it but things I don’t know well. Very useful, you can learn details easily.
—NEJM Image Challenge: I used this site randomly when I was bored. Mostly STEP1 topics, but not like exam Qs. There are very useful pics, do it for fun :))
—Wiki, Google Images: whenever needed.

Assessments

Took NBME 18, UWSA1-2 and Free 120 online, others offline. I used NBME 13-16 to reach 280q at the end of the others. I take free 120 at the end of the UWSA2

NBME 15 (5 months before the exam after the first pass of UW): 248–21 mistakes(nearly)
UWSA1 (4 months before the exam): 247
NBME 17 (3 months before the exam): 260
NBME 18 (2 months before the exam after the second pass of UW): 258 NBME 19 (1.5 months before the exam): 250